St. Theresa Catholic School

Discipline With Purpose

Self-Discipline involves the whole person: physical, social, spiritual, moral, intellectual, emotional.  The Discipline With Purpose program accommodates all facets of the whole person.  Skills are taught to children during appropriate periods of their growth and development.  The 15 skills are taught like any other curriculum.  There are rules and consequences established throughout the school focusing on the mastering of the self-discipline skills.  When individuals agree on the behaviors expected of a self-disciplined person, they establish a framework for decision-making and conflict resolution.  Skills are used, instead of personality traits, as the standard for evaluation of behaviors, and bringing about constructive change.


The Fifteen Self-Discipline Skills

Vasiloff/Lenz - Discipline With Purpose © 1984 All Rights Reserved

Basic Skills

Prompted Birth-K
Internalized Grs. K-3rd
1. Listening
2. Following Instructions
Sharing: Time, Space, People and Things
Exhibiting Social skills
Constructive Skills

Prompted Grs. K-3rd
Internalized Grs. 3-7
6. Cooperating with Others
7. Understanding the Reason for Rules
Independently Completing a Task
Exhibiting Leadership
10. Communicating Effectively
Generative Skills

Prompted Grs. K-7th
Internalized Grs. 7-12
11. Organizing: Time, Space, People, Things
12. Resolving Mutual Problems
13. Taking the Initiative in Problem Solving
14. Distinguishing Fact From Feeling
15. Sacrificing/Serving Others

Grouping the Skills

The first five skills are called Basic Skills. They are difficult for children in Kindergarten through the end of grade 3 to demonstrate on their own without help. The most basic of all skills is Listening. The symbol for the Basic Skills is the handshake. It reminds us that people need people in order to get along in an institutional environment.
The second five skills are called Constructive Skills. Children in grades 4-7 are developmentally ready to learn these 5 skills. The symbol to represent the second set of skills is the liberty bell, since learning the rights and responsibilities expected of members of our society requires citizens to use Constructive Skills.
Five additional skills are learned from grades 8-High School. The last five skills are called Generative Skills. The demonstration of Generative Skills requires a more comprehensive world view. People are motivated to demonstrate these higher level skills when the needs of others can be recognized and are considered to be important. The symbol of the transmitter reminds us that people who want to make changes in the institutional or democratic environments must transmit what they know to transform the world in which we live.

The skills are grouped into three categories. While children of all ages can be taught something about all fifteen skills, during some phases of a child’s development it is best to focus on certain skills.



© Cherry+Company SMARTsolution web design powered by FACTS Student Information System, providers of School Site